Great wine and the beautiful game provides the right results


Last weekend produced a good set of results in my efforts to restock the wine rack. It also saw good results on the football pitch for both Austria Wien and Leicester City FC, who each picked up three points and moved up their respective league tables.

On our way back from to Vienna we stopped off to buy some of my favourite Austrian wines from the Pimpel Vineyards. The winery in Goettlesbrunn and the vineyards’ are in the heart of Carnuntum wine country, situated between the Danube and Neusiedler See. The ‘Optime Merlot’ is a wine that puts of others of the same grape into the shade. It’s a wine for those special, quiet, summer evenings or for those winter nights gathered around the fire with friends – wine and moments to savour.  Whilst my other preference, from Gerhard Pimpels selection, is the ‘Zweigelt Rubin Carnuntum’ which can be trusted to provide an enjoyable and entertaining glass every time – the wine, dear reader, that sits next to me as I write this blog entry.

We discovered these wines by accident a little while ago now. We had taken H, who has inherited her father’s love of history, to the Carnuntum Archaeological Park. In addition to the Roman ruins, the reconstructed buildings really bring to life the Roman world as well as providing a genuinely interesting family day out. As we were leaving R asked the chap at the information desk (who turned out to be another Englishman who had made Austria his home) for advice on local vineyards. Based upon his enthusiastic suggestion we made our way to Goettlesbrunn and the winery of Gerhard Pimpel.

As we sat in the courtyard that evening with Gerhard Pimpel, my expectation was that R and I would spend less than an hour sampling three or four wines. In fact, we spent a very enjoyable evening talking about wines, England and Austria (with R interpreting as necessary) and becoming properly acquainted with the Optime. The wine had sold itself to me with the first tasting but spending some time understanding a little about the area, the grape and the person behind the wine added to a very enjoyable evening.

Afterwards I discovered that those who actually know something about wine also have a high opinion of these wines. But for me it’s all about personal taste and the passion people have for what they do.

As we headed back to Vienna last Sunday, with our new supplies of ‘Optime Merlot’ and ‘Zweigelt Rubin Carnuntum’, my attention turned to my iPhone. This is device that more than any other helps me to function in my adopted country. It provides maps and navigation, help me translate key words when needed, helps to deal with all sorts of every day demands, as well as providing me with the opportunity to stay in contact with friends both in Austria and around the world. This latter facility also allowed me to keep certain friends up to date with my wine purchasing efforts and other activities, through photos, messages etc, which I’m sure they appreciated really.

In this instance, my need to consult the iPhone was to find out the score in Austria Wien’s first game after the winter break and to keep track of Leicester City’s match against Derby County. For those not up to date with such matters, I am happy to report wins for both Leicester and Austria. So as I settled down on Sunday night it was with the feeling that all in all the weekend had produced the right results – good wines and the chance to read about success on the pitch. What more do you need to start the week?

http://www.falstaff.at/winzer/weingut-gerhard-pimpel-18699.html

http://www.gerhardpimpel.at/eindex.html

http://www.wien.info/en/sightseeing/excursions/archeological-park-carnuntum

Leave a comment

Filed under Vienna Life, Wine, Beer & Food

Leave a Reply

