Cavaliers for style but Roundhead to the bone


It’s difficult even here in the Republic of Austria to avoid a certain wedding. I’ve managed, today, to disappoint some of my work colleagues who were getting excited by the activities of my homelands royals.

I walked in on an excited discussion about ‘the wedding’, which I was informed is tomorrow. There was some disappointment when I explained that I was a republican (British anti-royalist not to be confused with a American right wing type).

Many Austrians I meet seem to love the idea of the British Royals and are often somewhat disappointed when I don’t share their enthusiasm. One colleague today was far from happy when I made reference to Cromwell, the Roundheads and the chopping off of royal heads – but only as a historical moment you understand, I remain opposed to call forms of Capital Punishment :).

Found it a little sad today when I read a YouGov survey that said the number of Brits wanting to abolish the Monarchy had declined. Also that the Monarchy was one of those things that defined Britishness – now what was the royal families name before they changed it to Windsor and which part of Germany did they originate from?

3 Comments

Filed under The odd thought or observation, UK, Vienna Life

3 responses to “Cavaliers for style but Roundhead to the bone

  1. Sax-Coburg Gotha (without using any reference sources or checking the spelling). I don’t hold that against them though.

    Just that they are unelected.

    The 1 in 4 of us opposed to the UK monarchy are slowly moving out of our apathy. Google Republic UK.

    So do the Austrians want to restore their Emperor?

    • Thanks for the name reminder. Certainly don’t hold their origins against them, just think its funny the way so many things that ‘make us British’ don’t originate from the ‘British Isle’. As for the Austrians, there is a Monarchist Party but they don’t seem to get much support. The question of empire is possibly better directed across the border to Hungary where there are some very questionable things going on…

  2. I was incredibly pleased to gain this website. I wanted to thanks for your time for this great read!! I unmistakably enjoying every small bit of it and I have you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

Leave a Reply

