What to do during the (football) winter break?


With the winter break leaving me with no Austrian football to watch until early February, I took up a friend’s invitation to go along to see the Vienna Capitals and my first ever Ice Hockey match.

Living in Vienna can sometimes feel like being part of some Art movie but an evening at the Ice Hockey was definitely more in the Hollywood mode, with the soundtrack dubbed into German. I know little about the rules of the game but was aided to some degree by my friend whose knowledge was clearly 100% greater than mine. Alas this in reality meant he understood only the basic rules but we spent an enjoyable and entertaining evening occasionally wondering what had just happened.

I’ll be heading back again next week to see another Vienna Capitals game but I’m not sure it’s really a substitute for the football.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sports, Vienna Life

Leave a Reply

