Walking amongst the clouds on the Ramsau am Dachstein plateau


IMG_6814

I hadn’t actually intended to go walking amongst the clouds. When I set out for a mornings hiking, through one corner of the snowy Ramsau, there was even some blue sky above my head, while the clouds attracting my attention were visible not above the mountains but below in the Enns valley. However,  I’m one of those strange people who actually enjoys strolling through a misty landscape with its ever changing patterns so when the clouds came racing towards me I embraced them with some enthusiasm.

Ramsau am Dachstein is situated on a plateau between the Dachstein range and the Enns valley in the Austrian state of Steiermark (close to the border with Austrian states of Salzburg and Oberösterreich). It scores highly as a winter playground for families but that’s a story for another post. The area is also noted as one of the few Protestant enclaves in heavily Roman Catholic Austria.

Walking amongst the clouds turns the world into a place in which the day to day suddenly becomes anything but mundane and normally. With ever changing patterns a path, a wood or a hut in a field each becomes new objects of curiosity.

The day had started with further snow......

The day had started with further snow……

...but it did add to the attractiveness of our surroundings....

…but it did add to the attractiveness of our surroundings….

..there really had been a lot of snow in 24 hours....

..there really had been a lot of snow in 24 hours….

...but then the sun broke through....

…but then the sun broke through….

...to my left the sky above the nearest peaks cleared..

…to my left the sky above the nearest peaks cleared..

....but maybe I should have paid more attention to the picture on my right and below...

….but maybe I should have paid more attention to the picture on my right and below…

....one minutes I'm walking in a landscape of bright whites and sharp colours, the next   it's a landscape of ink and shifting shapes..

….one minutes I’m walking in a landscape of bright whites and sharp colours, the next it’s a landscape of ink and shifting shapes..
....but black on silvery grey can be beautiful....

….but black on silvery grey can be beautiful….

...back on the farm road the clouds swirled around. In one moment I can't see (but can guess) what's making the jingling noise and then suddenly the horses and their sleigh are easily visible already well up the track....

…back on the farm road the clouds swirled around. In one moment I can’t see (but can guess) what’s making the jingling noise and then suddenly the horses and their sleigh are easily visible already well up the track….

....its only the passing of a few seconds before they begin to disappear back into the enclosing clouds...

….its only the passing of a few seconds before they begin to disappear back into the enclosing clouds…

...with the clouds came the return of the snow. I decided that digging the car out could wait till the next day.

…with the clouds came the return of the snow. I decided that digging the car out could wait till the next day.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Out and about in Steiermark

Leave a Reply

